About us
How we can help
Latest news
Press Releases
How to join
Contact us
Quick links
Church Society Trust

 Issues | Church History | William Joynson-Hicks

Wiliam Joynson-Hicks, 1st Viscount Brentford (1865-1932)
Home Secretary and President of The National Church League


  • 1865 Born “William Hicks” in Plaistow Hall, Kent
  • Educated at Merchant Taylor’s School, London
  • Practised as a solicitor
  • 1895 Married Grace Lynn Joynson.
  • 1908 Elected Conservative MP for Manchester North West, defeating Winston Churchill. Lost seat in 1910.
  • 1911 Elected for Twickenham.
  • 1922 Appointed Secretary for Overseas Trade then various other posts including Financial Secretary to the Treasury.
  • 1924 Appointed Home Secretary.
  • 1927 Spearheaded parliamentary opposition to the proposed new Book of Common Prayer. Sources state “The debate on the Prayer Book is regarded as one of the most eloquent ever seen in the Commons, and resulted in the rejection of the revised Prayer Book.”
  • 1928 Ensured vote given to all women over age of 21.
  • 1929 Became 1st Viscount Brentford.
  • "Called to his rest" on June 8th 1932 (NCL Report 1933).
  • Joynson-HIcks was popularly known as "Jix".

The National Church League annual report given in May 1933 reads:

"For more than thirty years, first as Treasurer and then as President, he took the most active and prominent part in the work of the League, both in its inner counsels and its public activities. An indefatigable worker, a wise counsellor and a courageous leader, whose sincerity of conviction and genial courtesy alike to opponents and to friends won the respect and affection of all who knew him, his loss to the work which claimed so much of his time and throught, is indeed grievous..."





See Also

  • The 1928 Prayer Book. David Phillips explains why the National Church League (Church Society forebear) led the charge against the English 1928 Prayer Book, and how the US 1928 Prayer Book compares.


back to top

Related Links
History Pages
BulletTheodore of Tarsus
BulletSynod of Hertford
BulletArchbishop Thomas Cranmer
BulletJohn Calvin
BulletEdmund Grindal
BulletWilliam Whitaker
BulletRyle: Reformers
BulletJohn Davenant
BulletJohn Pearson
BulletJohn Tillotson
BulletGeorge Whitefield
BulletAugustus Toplady
BulletRichard Blakeney
BulletHenry Wace
BulletWilliam Joynson-Hicks

History - Other Sub Issues
BulletChristians in England
BulletRichard Hooker
BulletJohn Jewell
BulletMartin Luther
BulletNicholas Ridley
BulletRichard Baxter
BulletJames Ussher
BulletJohn Newton
BulletJohn Wesley
BulletCharles Wesley
BulletW H Griffith Thomas
BulletJames Hannington
BulletHenry Martyn
BulletLord Shaftesbury
BulletCharles Simeon
BulletWilliam Wilberforce
BulletThomas Barnardo
BulletF. J. Chavasse
BulletJ. Taylor Smith

Other Issues
BulletLocal Church
BulletNational Church
BulletGeneral Synod
BulletAnglican Communion
BulletOther Faiths

 Issues Sitemap
 List all issues
 search site
Home | About us | Publications | Store | Issues | Events | Press releases
Membership | Contact us | Search | Links | Churchman | Church Society Trust | Cross+way